What is ICRU?

Gilmore Hall

The Iowa Center for Research by Undergraduates (ICRU) is a unit of the University of Iowa Office of the Vice President for Research.  We promote undergraduate involvement in research and creative projects at the University of Iowa by facilitating the mentorship of students in research/creative work and providing platforms for students to explore research communication.  We work with students, faculty, and staff from the arts, humanities, natural/physical sciences, social sciences, health and medicine, engineering, and business. If you are a student or faculty member looking to get involved with undergraduate research, you have come to the right place!

History of ICRU

Ali at MURC

ICRU was created in 2006 as a collaboration between the Office of the Provost and the Office of the Vice President for Research. Through partnerships with various campus programs, combined with acceptance and validation from faculty, staff, students, and the university, ICRU has since grown from running one Fellowship program to a full support system for undergraduate researchers.  In 2019, ICRU became a unit of the Office of the Vice President for Research.  This created more opportunities for campus partnerships as well as a deepened connection with the broader university research community. Despite its growth, ICRU still holds fast to its original goal to support individual students through helping undergraduates find research and creative work experiences and providing platforms for students to learn research communication skills.


ICRU is advised by a Steering Committee comprised of faculty and administrative professionals at the University of Iowa.  We are proud to have the following Committee members helping to steer ICRU's future:

Lori Adams - Associate Professor of Instruction, Biology; Director, Iowa Biosciences Academy, Latham Science Engagement Initiative

Monica Correia - Professor and Program Head, 3D Design, School of Art and Art History

Catherine Cherwin - Assistant Professor, College of Nursing

Christine Shea - Associate Professor, Spanish and Portuguese, Linguistics

Madeline Shea - Professor, Biochemistry, Molecular Physiology and Biophysics

Amanda Thein - Dean, Graduate College; Associate Provost for Graduate and Professional Education; Professor, College of Education

Tanya Uden-Holman - Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education; Dean of University College; Clinical Professor, College of Public Health

Shaun Vecera - Director, Honors Program; Professor and Herman J. and Eileen S. Schmidt Chair, Psychological and Brain Sciences

Sarah Vigmostad - Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering

Michael Weaver - Executive Assistant to the Vice President of Research; Manager of Unit Operations and Strategic Initiatives.

Joshua Weiner - Associate Dean for Research and Infrastructure; Professor, Biology

David Weiss - Professor, Microbiology and Immunology

ICRU's Campus Partners

ICRU welcomes the opportunity to collaborate with other University of Iowa departments, offices, and organizations who share a commitment to undergraduate involvement in research and creative work. 

Office of the Vice President for Research

  • ICRU is a unit of the Office of the Vice President for Research, which supports research and creative scholarship at the University of Iowa.

Office of the Provost

  • The Office of the Provost provides academic leadership to the University and provides funding for student awards through ICRU.  Its fundamental mission is to champion innovation and excellence in teaching, research, creative production, and service.

University of Iowa Graduate College

Public Policy Center (PPC)
Iowa Sciences Academy (ISA)

Office of Community Engagement
Office of Sustainability and the Environment
University of Iowa Student Government
Csomay Center for Gerontological Excellence
Belin-Blank Center

The University of Iowa Libraries
The Pentacrest Museums
Office of the State Archaeologist.
University Honors Program 
Obermann Center for Advanced Studies
Iowa Research Online