People of Research

Wondering who are all of these undergraduates who keep the UI's research efforts running? Let's pull back the curtain, shall we?

Undergraduates are integral to the research and creative scholarship  at the University of Iowa. These researchers bring a fresh perspective and enthusiasm to their respective laboratories -- not to mention a helpful set of hands! Let's introduce the people who answer big questions about our environments, our health and our histories. Meet the shining stars here and visit the initial stories on instagram and twitter (@uiowaicru)!

 

Gwen Barnes

Gwen Barnes

gwen-barnes@uiowa.edu

BS Geoscience, Spring 2022

Research Interest: Carbon cycle of the Steptoean Positive Carbon Isotope Excursion of the Cambrian Period

Mikayla Eppert

Mikayla Eppert

mikayla-eppert@uiowa.edu

BS Biochemistry, Spring 2022

Research Interest: Understanding the role of two specific proteins thought to play overlapping roles in fixing double strand breaks in the DNA through  homologous recombination

Click to learn more about Mikayla!

Hannah Zadeh

Hannah Zedah

hannah-zadeh@uiowa.edu

BA Sociology, Spring 2022

Research Interests: Flint Water Crisis, Racial disparities in Medical Research, and Child Psychology 

Click to learn more about Hannah!

Madison Anae

Madison Anae

madison-anae@uiowa.edu

BS Geoscience, Spring 2022

Research Interest: Internal processes of the Earth through volcanology

Click to learn more about Madison!

Dylan Mittauer

Dylan Mittauer

dylan-mittauer@uiowa.edu

BS Biomedical Sciences, Spring 2022

Research Interest: How diabetes affects calcium-dependent growth signaling in the smooth muscle cells of the arteries and potentially contributes to the development of atherosclerosis and heart disease in diabetic populations.

Click to learn more about Dylan!

Hannah Shrader

Hannah Shrader

hannah-shrader@uiowa.edu

BS Biochemistry, BS Medical Anthropology, Spring 2022

Clinical and Translational Sciences Certificate

Research Interest: Immunological and surgical aspects of pancreatic cancer

Click to learn more about Hannah!